My freewheeling trip to Hong Kong

The countdown was over, I turned off my laptop in the office and finally hit the road. After a long way to Hong Kong the airport doors opened and suddenly I stopped breathing for a second or two. The heat and incredible humidity surprised me. Yes, I was not prepared. But it only takes one day or two to get used to it. This was not my first romance with South East Asia and because they say – Hong Kong is everything but the real China, I was eager to verify this theory. Hong Kong is a busy and crowded place, no doubt. Such a populated city in quite small area has no chance to expand out so the only choice left is to expand up. Extremely high buildings embracing the entire city creat an atmosphere that is really unique. Hong Kong (“fragrant harbour”), former British colony, offers everything you could wish for on holiday if you are not a seaside resort tourist.

Hong Kong consists of Hong Kong Island, the Kowloon Peninsula, the New Territories, and over 200 offshore islands, of which the largest is Lantau Island. Probably the most fancy part is Central District located on northern part of Hong Kong Island. Steep streets (reminding you of San Francisco), shops with antiquities and old books intensify this unique atmosphere. Go for a walk along Hollywood Road and you will find expensive branded goods, serviced apartments, western architecture accompanied by quintessential Asian (Chinese) features like Man Mo Temple, clothes hanging out of windows, street food and chaos. Once you are in Hong Kong you must not miss Victoria Peak (also known as The Peak), a mountain located in the western half of Hong Kong Island which offers one of the views you will remeber for the rest of your life.

Central District

Central District

IMG_8601

Victoria Harbour

IMG_8326

View from The Peak

 

View from the Peak

View from the Peak

 

If you´re in need of a soothing place where you could remain silent just with your thoughts, Man Mo Temple is a perfect place to go to. Man Mo Temple is a tribute to the God of Literature located between high buildings. If you go inside, incense sticks will take you to the Asian spiritual world.

Man Mo Temple

Man Mo Temple

Man Mo Temple

Man Mo Temple

Man Mo Temple

Man Mo Temple

Man Mo Temple

Man Mo Temple

 

IMG_8611

Central District

Central District

Central District

Central District

Central District

About terissmile

Teresa is the name. I was born in the Czech Republic, but since I always leave a piece of my heart in every place I had chance to live for a while, I feel more like a child of the world. It all started with moments which had a huge impact on my emotional level and on myself as well. Moments seemingly ordinary and insignificant from the common point of view, more specifically emotions written in human faces. I started chasing those candid ephemeral moments that are there only for a second and then they are gone and lost forever - be it loneliness, fear, anxiety, astonishment, joy, love, disappointment, loss... But it´s all real. Real emotions of real people. I do not follow any rules in particular, the only thing I insist on is honesty and genuineness that help me to add life to possibly every shot I take. Since minimalism is my way, I try to keep them as minimalist as possible. That is how I create my world. Take a look if you like. https://thestoryofmylifebyterismile.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Asia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My freewheeling trip to Hong Kong

  1. Great post, I am desperate to go to Hong Kong / China as soon as possible!

    Like

  2. terissmile says:

    Thanks, more posts about Hong Kong and China as well coming soon 🙂

    Like

  3. Joaquin Gonzalez says:

    Quite good (interesting) article & pictures!

    Like

Leave a Reply

