Incredible nature in Hong Kong

Hong Kong is a crowded, busy and lively place, but maybe you would be surprised that it´s surrounded by amazing natural scenery. Wide ocean spaces, rugged landscape, cotton-soft beaches, walking trails and chilling places make this region with sub-tropical climate even more fascinating. I was lucky to have the best guide-a proper Hongkonger- so I didn´t have to rely on my Lonely Planet guidebook and got a chance to see the most amazing stuff that Hong Kong can offer. Of my very best Hong Kong memories, hiking at Sai Kung is on the top. If you are a person who doesn´t mind to tire yourself out in a good way from time to time, a hike at Sai Kung is a perfect way how to spend whole day outside. The hike itself was not extremely demanding, but it was an incredibly humid day and sweat was just pouring off of us all. But the views, THE VIEWS made the journey well worth it. Splendid inner bays, pineapple trees, beaches with crystal-clear water and white sand, located between hills and capes of the South China Sea. Force yourself out of bed, go to Sai Kung and unforgettable memories are guaranteed.

 

IMG_8429

Sai Kung

IMG_8431

IMG_8442

Sai Kung

IMG_8447

Sai Kung

IMG_8454

Sai Kung residents

IMG_8457

Sai Kung

Do you want to leave the rush for a while? Peng Chau Island is a small place with surprising potential. Just take a ferry from Central Pier 6 on Hong Kong Island and give this place a chance. Wing On Street with elders sitting in the shade on their plastic chairs playing chess is only a small teaser. Narrow streets with markets lead to an empty beach. Tung Wan Beach really surprised me, I was wondering if I was still in “China”, because except for two Chinese kiddos having fun with their grandfather and one random non-Chinese guy taking a sunbath, there was no human being. You could think you are somewhere in the Mediterranean, the only Chinese looking thing is the Golden Flower Shrine dedicated to the Lady Golden Flower.
IMG_8333

Tung Wan Beach

IMG_8334

Tung Wan Beach

IMG_8336

The Golden Flower Shrine

IMG_8337

The Golden Flower Shrine

IMG_8341

Chill out

IMG_8343

Peng Chau village

Another chilling place is Stanley located on Hong Kong Island’s south coast. You can take a bus from Tsim Sha Tsui, it´s one hour bus ride and the ride itself is an absorbing sightseeing tour especially if you are sitting in a double decker bus. Stanley Market is a typicall tourist stuff which I presonally don´t enjoy that much, artificial crap is not what I´m looking for. If you follow the signs, you will find the Blake Pier and the Tin Han Temple, which is dedicated to the Goddess of the sea and protector of fishermen. This temple built in 1767 is the oldest temple on Hong Kong Island.
IMG_8549

On the way to Stanley

IMG_8558

On the way to Stanley

IMG_8590

On the way to Stanley

IMG_8564

The Blake Pier

IMG_8565

Stanley

IMG_8569

Stanley

IMG_8574

Stanley

IMG_8576

The Tin Han Temple

IMG_8578

The Tin Han Temple

IMG_8580

Stanley Main Beach

IMG_8591

On the way back

About terissmile

Teresa is the name. I was born in the Czech Republic, but since I always leave a piece of my heart in every place I had chance to live for a while, I feel more like a child of the world. It all started with moments which had a huge impact on my emotional level and on myself as well. Moments seemingly ordinary and insignificant from the common point of view, more specifically emotions written in human faces. I started chasing those candid ephemeral moments that are there only for a second and then they are gone and lost forever - be it loneliness, fear, anxiety, astonishment, joy, love, disappointment, loss... But it´s all real. Real emotions of real people. I do not follow any rules in particular, the only thing I insist on is honesty and genuineness that help me to add life to possibly every shot I take. Since minimalism is my way, I try to keep them as minimalist as possible. That is how I create my world. Take a look if you like. https://thestoryofmylifebyterismile.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Asia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

