First time in China. Shanghai

Not so long time ago life took me to China and since I have a few days just to focus on myself, I decided to take a look in my Chinese diary. After certain issues with getting my visa it was the day of my long journey. If you´re going so far from home for the first time, you can´t prevent yourself from wondering. You have no expectations, maybe you are a little scared, maybe you don´t care at all. The only certain thing is that when the airport door opens you will be in a completely different world.

As for me it was fun from the very beginning. I really do enjoy exploring new places and by the time I registered with local police I knew it would be an awesome and rewarding experience. I prefer to observe an ordinary life of local people rather than visiting all of the top tourist attractions. Ordinary life seems to be quite insignificant to many people but speaking from my own experience it´s the only thing that really matters.

China is absolutely different from anything I´ve experienced so far. Food is different (surprisingly) and one has to forget about some things from home. Like pastry. Or cream and cheese. Or pickled cucumbers. In fact you can get any of those in specialized stores which provide imported groceries from all around the world, but you must be prepared to pay for it. On the other hand there´s so many dishes you should try while being in China that you won´t even have time to think about pastry. Like delicious jaozi, xiaolongbao or my favourite Chinese cabbage báicài. It´s not only the kind of food, but the way of dining as well. The Chinese prefer a round table which enables to share a variety of different meals and noisy eating is absolutely common.

There are many differences in manners, not only at the table. I was surprised that the Chinese spit, yawn, pick their noses and ears and burp almost everywhere. They cut their nails even on the subway and nail clipper is a common key case. Kids wear open-crotch pants with a hole on the bottom which allows them to pee and make a poo wherever they want. Don´t try to make faces and just remember you are in China.

_MG_1318

Have you heard that China is dealing with shortage of electricity? It doesn´t apply to Pudong and Bund.

_MG_1332

The Bund, which runs along the western bank of the Huangpu River. Colonial heritage.

_MG_9935

Would you believe it was a remote dock not so long ago? It´s probably Shanghai´s energy which makes it one of the most interesting places in the world.

_MG_9937

Chinese style – so crazy. The more of everything the better.

_MG_0123

Old City of Shanghai made for tourists..

_MG_0149

Nanjing Road, the main shopping street of Shanghai and is one of the world’s busiest shopping streets. Multi-storey shopping malls full of the world´s most valuable brands. They are empty since a regular Chinese person can´t afford the goods they sell there.

_MG_0153

Nanjing Road. All shiny. Anytime.

_MG_0166

Traffic near Jing´an Temple.

 

Thanks for stopping by!

About terissmile

Teresa is the name. I was born in the Czech Republic, but since I always leave a piece of my heart in every place I had chance to live for a while, I feel more like a child of the world. It all started with moments which had a huge impact on my emotional level and on myself as well. Moments seemingly ordinary and insignificant from the common point of view, more specifically emotions written in human faces. I started chasing those candid ephemeral moments that are there only for a second and then they are gone and lost forever - be it loneliness, fear, anxiety, astonishment, joy, love, disappointment, loss... But it´s all real. Real emotions of real people. I do not follow any rules in particular, the only thing I insist on is honesty and genuineness that help me to add life to possibly every shot I take. Since minimalism is my way, I try to keep them as minimalist as possible. That is how I create my world. Take a look if you like. https://thestoryofmylifebyterismile.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Asia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

