Lanzarote; The Moonscape Land

Kanáry-Lanzarote 022

La Santa

 

No matter if you´re young or old
You never be alone in la santa
La santa sport!

It might be the most stupid song ever, but it brings me back to the unworried period of my life when I was an athlete. Track and field was the major part of my life which brought me 10 rewarding (in all possible ways) years. Since I made it to the national team I had the honour to join overseas training camps. One of the places that will stay in my heart forever is Lanzarote (Canary Islands), more specifically La Santa. Not only it´s a perfect place for top athletes, equipped with everything they need to make it through their everyday training ordeal, it´s a charming and magical place as well. The fourth largest of the Canary Islands of a volcanic origin was “born through fiery eruptions and has solidified lava streams as well as extravagant rock formations”. Every step you take in Lanzarote reminds you of the flaming past. The incredibly clean and relaxing shore and the lava fields make an extraordinary couple. It´s pretty obvious that tourism has been crucial for the island´s economy, but if you make an effort, you will enter a tranquil and traditional agricultural world.

I had a great time being a part of all of this, but for the most precious memories I´m grateful to the people I have met. I will remember us having barbecues, being always ready to rent a car and hit the road. We used to sleep on terrace with the stars above us and shared our crazy ideas and dreams. We used to party till the morning when La Santa song meant we should really go to bed.

Many things have changed since the old good days. Some of us (not me) became Olympic champions. Some of us don´t live anymore and were accompanied on their final journey by the rest of us in tears and silence. Some of us still wait for a hint, some have become parents. Life has changed, but we are still there – it´s still us hoping for the best possible lane, just like on the track.

In La Santa you can meet your twin soul who will keep you company for a couple of years until you go your separate ways. So here´s to all of you guys!

 

La Santa rocks..

The moonscape land. Timanfaya National Park is the witness of the recient and historical volcanism of Lanzarote. This place will definitely leave you speechless for a moment.

Papagayo Beach

Playa Blanca. Once a small fishing village, in recent years this place has developed into Lanzarote’s popular resort. But just a couple of hundred metres aside, you will find this…

La Santa village. Small local restaurants with delicious seafood. You can even pick your fish. Taverns serving local wine.

Strolling around Papagayo Beach

Sometimes I wish we were the same kiddos daring to dream. We all had young souls back then.

Everything seemed achievable..

We had loads of fun… It was painful, but it was worth it!

This post is dedicated to Honza & Martina, lovely friends who didn´t make it. Have fun guys, wherever you are!

Thanks for stopping by!

About terissmile

Teresa is the name. I was born in the Czech Republic, but since I always leave a piece of my heart in every place I had chance to live for a while, I feel more like a child of the world. It all started with moments which had a huge impact on my emotional level and on myself as well. Moments seemingly ordinary and insignificant from the common point of view, more specifically emotions written in human faces. I started chasing those candid ephemeral moments that are there only for a second and then they are gone and lost forever - be it loneliness, fear, anxiety, astonishment, joy, love, disappointment, loss... But it´s all real. Real emotions of real people. I do not follow any rules in particular, the only thing I insist on is honesty and genuineness that help me to add life to possibly every shot I take. Since minimalism is my way, I try to keep them as minimalist as possible. That is how I create my world. Take a look if you like. https://thestoryofmylifebyterismile.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Europe, What´s on my mind and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lanzarote; The Moonscape Land

  1. I was there as a kid, but I can’t really remember anything of it…

    Like

Leave a Reply

