Maghreb; Tunisia in Shortcut

Tunisian seashore

 

Endless sand… sun… caravans, nomads, camels… ancient trade routes crossing the emptiness… these are a few of the pictures that flash across the mind-screen when most of us hear the words “North Africa”.

Many things have changed since those romantic days, Maghreb is no longer just a picturesque place located in Northwest Africa, the Berber World. The most calm part of this African corner is Tunisia, the smallest country in the Maghreb at the same time. Atlas Mountains, the Sahara desert and the Mediterranean sea. What a geography! The Ottoman Empire legacy and the part of the history when Tunisia used to be a French protectorate make Tunisia a highly diverse country. Whether you want to climb the mountains or relax by the seashore, speak Arabic or French, you can. I highly recommend not to be scared and travel across Tunisia on your own, it’s well worth it. There’s nothing to be afraid of. People are quite nice there and I guess I still have the train ticket with train schedule from Tunis to Hammamet. I asked the conductor when was the last train running from Tunis and he wrote down the whole schedule on it.

 

Local cafe

 

Hammamet mosque

 

Tunisian walk

 

Medina of Tunis, the capitol. Shops and stalls of Tunisian souk market look just like any other souk market in Arab countries. Take a day off and lose yourself in the souks of Medina.

 

Tunis from the roof

 

Kittens in the city of Carthage. Grab a taxi from the city centre.

 

Internet Café in Nabeul

Everyday life

 

Wisdom and tradition

 

Pottery

 

Somewhere between Hammamet and Nabeul

 

Young athletes in Sousse

 

 

About terissmile

Teresa is the name. I was born in the Czech Republic, but since I always leave a piece of my heart in every place I had chance to live for a while, I feel more like a child of the world. It all started with moments which had a huge impact on my emotional level and on myself as well. Moments seemingly ordinary and insignificant from the common point of view, more specifically emotions written in human faces. I started chasing those candid ephemeral moments that are there only for a second and then they are gone and lost forever - be it loneliness, fear, anxiety, astonishment, joy, love, disappointment, loss... But it´s all real. Real emotions of real people. I do not follow any rules in particular, the only thing I insist on is honesty and genuineness that help me to add life to possibly every shot I take. Since minimalism is my way, I try to keep them as minimalist as possible. That is how I create my world. Take a look if you like. https://thestoryofmylifebyterismile.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Africa and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

