Shooting from the Hip. Photo101 Rehab.

One of the things I really do enjoy is shooting from the hip. The most exciting part of the whole process is that I´m not fully in control of the shots and that´s why I come up with some pretty horrible photos quite often. But those few shots I like are really worth it. Since I really hate all possible ways of pretending and sometimes I prefer to go unnoticed, shooting from the hip suits me well. You would be surprised how many candid and real moments you can capture thanks to this technique. All those imperfections resulting from shooting from the hip like irregular angle, blurry photos and many other imperfections can even make your shots more impressive.

It´s a special moment we haunt during shooting from the hip, not the perfect setting. Nevertheless there are few basic “rules” that I consider very helpful. I always use wide-angle lens to make me and the viewer feeling like we´re a part of the scene. The other “rule” I follow is a fast shutter speed. If you’re shooting from the hip, there is always chance you´re moving not to mention that the object might be moving as well. As a result the chances for motion blur are high so you need to freeze the scene using a fast shutter speed. Now you just have to go out there and give it a try.

IMG_8374

A very irregular angle, but it reminds me of how bright the sun shines on a hot day. I was thinking about converting the picture into black and white, but those beautiful facepaintings prevented me from doing it. Shot taken in Lantau Island, Hong Kong. ISO 200, 40mm, f/10, shutter speed 1/200.

_MG_0125

Quite motion blurred, but still I like the picture. There was no time to play around with the setting. The P-mode chose ISO 1600 and as a compensation of high light sensitivity used a slow shutter speed 1/30 which was not definitely enough to freeze the scene. Shot taken in Shanghai, China.

_MG_0128

While shooting from the hip, you can be a witness of a moment you will remember for the rest of your life. Shanghai, China.

 

Thanks for stopping by!

 

About terissmile

Teresa is the name. I was born in the Czech Republic, but since I always leave a piece of my heart in every place I had chance to live for a while, I feel more like a child of the world. It all started with moments which had a huge impact on my emotional level and on myself as well. Moments seemingly ordinary and insignificant from the common point of view, more specifically emotions written in human faces. I started chasing those candid ephemeral moments that are there only for a second and then they are gone and lost forever - be it loneliness, fear, anxiety, astonishment, joy, love, disappointment, loss... But it´s all real. Real emotions of real people. I do not follow any rules in particular, the only thing I insist on is honesty and genuineness that help me to add life to possibly every shot I take. Since minimalism is my way, I try to keep them as minimalist as possible. That is how I create my world. Take a look if you like. https://thestoryofmylifebyterismile.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Asia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

