The Republic of Užupis. Vilnius, Lithuania.

It was time to hit the road again and since I´ve never been to any of the three Baltic countries, Lithuania seemed to be a good start. I did not know what to expect but to my surprise my imagination had come up with quite different picture. One of the places which surprised me the most was a self-proclaimed “independent” state inside Vilnius known as the Republic of Užupis. Basically it´s an artist’s quarter on one side of the Vilnelė River inhabited by bohemian people such as artists, writers and philosophers. But don´t expect some kind of “Montmartre style”, the whole place just feels so eastern. All you have to do is cross the bridge, take a walk along the strange alleyway and look around.

Photo-0012

Welcome

IMG_2063

Still round the corner there may wait, a new road or a secret gate…

IMG_2058

It helps to have a friend to walk along the road with..

IMG_2055

We may not be knowing where life is leading, but we have each other along the way..

IMG_2054

And we never know who may cross our path..

IMG_2069

…and who will just disappear from sight.

Photo-0011

Good-bye until next time

Thanks for stopping by!

About terissmile

Teresa is the name. I was born in the Czech Republic, but since I always leave a piece of my heart in every place I had chance to live for a while, I feel more like a child of the world. It all started with moments which had a huge impact on my emotional level and on myself as well. Moments seemingly ordinary and insignificant from the common point of view, more specifically emotions written in human faces. I started chasing those candid ephemeral moments that are there only for a second and then they are gone and lost forever - be it loneliness, fear, anxiety, astonishment, joy, love, disappointment, loss... But it´s all real. Real emotions of real people. I do not follow any rules in particular, the only thing I insist on is honesty and genuineness that help me to add life to possibly every shot I take. Since minimalism is my way, I try to keep them as minimalist as possible. That is how I create my world. Take a look if you like. https://thestoryofmylifebyterismile.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Europe and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Republic of Užupis. Vilnius, Lithuania.

  1. Tieme says:

    It seems like you are always on the road, ever travelling on and on 😉 Now, the Baltic countries, I have never visited them!

    As usual your photos are lovely. Unique angles, and surprising elements like people walking by.

    Great work Teresa!

    Warm regards,
    Tieme

    Like

  2. I’ve never visited the Baltic countries either, but I saw a TV-program about this place once, probably on Travel channel or something. Interesting place indeed. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. sammerion14 says:

    wow ,This blog is taking us around the world

    Like

Leave a Reply

