Psychosomatic Disorders: You Think I’m Mad?

IMG_0897-2

It’s been quite a long time since I haven’t post anything here and today I would like to share with you guys something completely different from the usual. Something hard to understand at the beginning.

Let me tell you a kind of story. As most of you probably know, life can get very messed up from time to time. There are moments where we have to stand the test, suck things up, deal with hardship and endure things no matter what. Sometimes it all just gets too much. Yeah, right. Quite boring so far. But..

After some time suddenly something is wrong and you are in physical pain – be it back pain, rush, nausea, pain in urethra… you name it. There are symptoms so you go to see a doctor hoping to find a reason soon. To your big surprise, despite several hospital visits and tests, there is nothing wrong. The symptoms are persistent so you run another medical tests. You provide blood, urine or other body substances. Still the doctors have no explanations. Seems like you are perfectly healthy so how come you are in constant pain? Your life is revolving around the pain in large measure so you even stop doing things you like such as running or any other physical activity you’re facing the fear of “worsening your disease”.

You perceive yourself as a sick person. Pain, symptoms, tests, but no diagnosis. Over and over again. You start to think – am I mad?

Here is the “secret” that is so hard to understand for our brains used to the scheme “pain-doctor-diagnosis-pills-problem solved”: it’s your own mind playing tricks with you. Body is the only tool of our screaming souls and the pain we feel is triggered by trauma. The mind literally affects the body heavily- in other words- all the emotional turbulences are translated into physical symptoms.

No wonder there are no pills to solve this. Dealing with something that is happening in your mind is very overwhelming especially when people from your surroundings start to believe you’ve gone mad. The good news is there is a way out of this. The less good news is that the way is not easy at all and there might be two backward steps after every step ahead. But once you accept what’s happening to you, you have the best chance of recovery.

The “stop thinking about it and it will disappear” strategy is a perfect start. I know, easier said than done, but you would be surprised how efficient this strategy is once you try really hard. Focus on what causes your pain from the inside; try to find the origin and get rid of it. Become a real master of your own mind. There is always a possibility of relapse, but as your strenght of mind will grow, the periods of relapse will be shorter, less intense and one day you will be free of pain again.

This post is a big thankyou to a person who told me the truth about what was happening to me some time ago and directed me to recovery. At the same time this post is dedicated to all the girls out there dealing with psychosomatic disorders. You will do fine again.

Thanks for stopping by!

 

 

About terissmile

Teresa is the name. I was born in the Czech Republic, but since I always leave a piece of my heart in every place I had chance to live for a while, I feel more like a child of the world. It all started with moments which had a huge impact on my emotional level and on myself as well. Moments seemingly ordinary and insignificant from the common point of view, more specifically emotions written in human faces. I started chasing those candid ephemeral moments that are there only for a second and then they are gone and lost forever - be it loneliness, fear, anxiety, astonishment, joy, love, disappointment, loss... But it´s all real. Real emotions of real people. I do not follow any rules in particular, the only thing I insist on is honesty and genuineness that help me to add life to possibly every shot I take. Since minimalism is my way, I try to keep them as minimalist as possible. That is how I create my world. Take a look if you like. https://thestoryofmylifebyterismile.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, What´s on my mind and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Psychosomatic Disorders: You Think I’m Mad?

  1. What about all the boys out there dealing with psychosomatic disorders? They should get a dedicated post too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

